Adding a New User in Sendouts
Last modified: August 7, 2012 by Michelle
Adding a New User to your Database
- Go to the User Module
- Click the New User Icon
- Enter the New User’s information into the from, the Red fields are required
- Click Ok
- You’ll be prompted to enter your Password to assign User Security Rights to this New User
Once you add this new user, they will be sent an automated email containing their login credentials along with instructions on how to install Sendouts and where to find training resources.
Each User has Security settings that give them specific rights and access to different parts and different functions within Sendouts. As an Admin you can decide which rights to grant each specific User. You’ll define those in the User Security settings. ONLY System Administrators and the owner of the record can change and/or access the Security Settings. The User will have the ability to change/view their Password.
There will be five Settings sections to choose from, Login, Rights, Ownership, Record Access Control and Outlook.
- The Enable Login check box will let you deny or grant login rights to this User.
- The Username field is the Username you’ll assign to this new user for logging in to your database. By default, Sendouts will give new user’s a generic Username, if you’d like to change it, you may do so, but be sure to pass this along to your new user. The Username can be changed by the User at any time.
- The Password field is the Password that will be assigned to this new user, used to login to your database. By default, when a new User is created,they will be given the temporary password of “password” which will HAVE to be changed the first time they login to the database. This Password can be changed by the User at any time, however, Sendouts Support CANNOT give out passwords. If you forget your Password, you can use the Forgot Password icon on the login screen, and your password will be emailed to you. There are a few passwords that are NOT allowed, they are:
- The word “password”
- the User’s first name
- the User’s last name
- the Client name
- the User’s username
- The Confirm Password field will simply confirm the password is correct. Under the ‘General’ tab.
- The Allow Single Machine Access box, if checked, will allow access to the Sendouts database from only one computer, typically a work computer.
- If you want to allow this user access to the Sendouts database from only a selected few computers, you can specify the IP address and what type of access they can have from which location by using this list.
Decide if you want this user to have Login Rights or Admin Rights. All Users must be granted Login Rights to login to the Sendouts database, you can choose to give them Admin Rights in addition to the Login Rights.
- The Login Rights are for employees who will be accessing the system on a daily basis, but whose access you want to limit to strictly using the system, not modifying the system.
- The Admin Rights are reserved for someone who you want to be able to have access to and have the ability to change all information within Sendouts, so managers or dept. leads are typically allowed Admin rights.
If you give this user Admin Rights, check the Allow All Rights (Is Admin) box and the form will automatically populate the fields.
If they are not an Admin, you’ll have to decide which options you would like to allow this user to have. By default, some boxes will already be checked, so if you aren’t quite sure which option’s you’d like this user to have just yet, you’ll have some common functions already selected for you.
- The Max Print Merge/Max Mail Merge option will allow you to set a maximum number of Email Merges allowed to be sent at once, this number can be anywhere between 0 and 500. By default, it will be 0.
- The Max List Print/Max List Export option will allow you to set a maximum number of records the User can export or print. By default, it will be 0.
- The Owning DV option assumes that this new User is in the same Division as the person who created the record. (If you only have 1 Division, this is not applicable)
- The Owning US option assumes that the person who created this record is the owner of the record.
Record Access Control
- Choose the Read-Only check box ONLY IF instructed to by your Implementation Specialist or Support.
- Choose which users you want to have access to this record by identifying them in this list. To add a record, simply click the Add button, and follow the instructions. Use this option ONLY IF instructed to by your Implementation Specialist or Support.
- Check the Enable Outlook Sync box to enable the Outlook Sync feature, to learn more about the Outlook Integration, click HERE.
- The Sync Contact drop down box allows this user the ability to:
- No Access will deny them ability to Sync their Sendouts contacts with Outlook
- Only where the user is the Owner or PRIMARY RC/AM will allow them to only sync the contacts in which they are the owner of the record or the PRIMARY RC or AM of the record
- Only where the user is the Owner or ANY RC/AM will allow them to only sync the contacts in which they are the owner of the record or are listed as ANY RC or an AM on the record